Starling Class Association
  • Website of the Starling Clas Association
  • Website of the Starling Clas Association
  • Website of the Starling Clas Association
  • Website of the Starling Clas Association
  • Website of the Starling Clas Association
  • Website of the Starling Clas Association
  • Website of the Starling Clas Association
  • Website of the Starling Clas Association

Latest News

Welcome to the Starling Class Website

NI Champs 2015

Starling Nth Island Champs at New Plymouth in January 10-11th. NOTE closing date for normal entries is this Friday 19th Dec. After that it will cost you $30 more. The NOR and Entry Form (at the end of the NOR) is here.


For those wishing to attend the coaching clinic in January - if you were one of the 20 who sent in an expression of interest you have until Saturday 20th to send in your entry form. If you obtained an entry form without sending an expression of interest you are on the waiting list which is now 6 long. If you haven't done either of those things you have probably missed out. I will be in touch with the people concerned after the 20th. 


If you are a Starling coach you may be interested in a "Coaches clinic" YNZ will be running on the evening of Friday 23rd January at Wakatere. This follows the completion of the coaching clinic. YNZ are keen to have the more senior coaches attend so if that's not you but you have one at your club please try and persuade them to come along. I have a short list at present but we need more.


 Richard Brown


Last Updated (Tuesday, 16 December 2014 17:09)


Starling Champs Ballot

The Parua Bay meeting resolved to conduct a ballot over the timing of the national championships.

The articles for and against are in the links below and an email inviting your contribution should have been sent to you. If not, please get in touch at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Starling Champs in January?

Starling Champs in April?



2015 New Plymouth Nationals

2015 Nationals at New Plymouth 8-11 April 2015

Details at;

Last Updated (Sunday, 22 June 2014 13:51)


2014 Parua Bay Nationals

The 2014 Starling Nationals at Parua Bay concluded with the following winners. The event was held in disappointingly light and shifty conditions that tried both the competitors and the race management officials!

The John Peet Trophy
National Champion

Nick Egnot-Johnson

Kohi Cup
Second Place at the Nationals

Leonard Takahashi-Fry

Murrays Bay Cup
Third Place at the Nationals

Libby Porter

Alan Sayer Cup
First Female

Libby Porter

John Bisley Cup
Second Female

Kate Stewart

Des Townson Trophy
Over 19

Graeme Wilson

Harken Trophy
Youngest skipper in top 10

Tom Fyfe

Chris Timms Memorial Trophy
Highest placed sailor under 16

Nick Egnot-Johnson

Howick Sailing Club Cup
Silver Fleet Winner
(Formerly the handicap winner)

Ziggy Smith

Graham Leonard Hayes Shield
Awarded to the skipper who showed exceptional courage during the event

 Elllie Lane

Cooke Trophy
Awarded to the leader at the end of the qualifying series

Nick Egnot-Johnson

Development Fleet

Lloyd Perratt

The Queen Charlotte Trophy
Awarded to the most improved skipper throughout the Championship

Penelope Wilson

Caltex Cup
Match Racing Champion

Dylan McKinley

Full Results





Last Updated (Tuesday, 16 December 2014 17:10)


February 2014 Update

Changes to the Class Rules
The rule changes which were the subject of the class ballot have now been approved by Yachting NZ. They become effective on 1st February and will apply to future Starling events.

Northland Champs

The Northland Champs are being run out of the Bay Of Islands YC in Waitangi. Optimists are included in the regatta for those two class families.

2014 Nationals at Parua Bay

Whangarei Cruising Club are well organised, but do need some more helpers to ensure it runs smoothly. If you can offer some assistance, particularly with results processing, or have a VHF or RIB you can make available, please make contact at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

On the WCC website  you will find the NOR with its entry form. Make sure you get your entry in early and make sure you have sent all the information quested. There is always a last minute panic to obtain copies of Measurement certificates or proof of Club Membership. DO NOT SEND INCOMPLETE ENTRIES as this just creates more work for the organisers. In recent years there have been less than 50% of entries were complete and it just isn't necessary. The The NOR mentions that entries maybe paid by internet banking but it does not have the a/c details which are -: Whangarei Cruising Club   06 0493 0005626 00  Remember to put the boat number in the details. 

Also on the website is the Measurement declaration. This is a class requirement. Once again dont leave it to the last minute. There will be plenty of post race measurement to make sure boats are being sailed in "class trim" and as at previous events the SCA scales will be available to check your boat prior to racing. Clubs could help by organising a Nationals entry evening  and get these things ticked off.
Development Fleet
Parua Bay is an ideal venue for a National development fleet event. Those Starling sailors with National's experience need to encourage prospective Starling sailors to come to this event. They may not even receive these newsletters so they are relying on you to pass on the information. This year will prove or disprove the need for a development fleet. There is quite a lot of work to organise a separate course.
SCA    AGM     The AGM will be held at Parua Bay on 25th April at 6.00pm. Please keep this time clear so you can attend the meeting. We endeavour to keep the boring stuff to a minimum, leaving more time to discuss matters we are all interested in.
Richard Brown
SCA President

Last Updated (Monday, 24 February 2014 17:31)

Who's Online
We have 4 guests and 1 member online
Class Sponsors
The Starling class would like to acknowledge the contribution of the following businesses and organisations to the ongoing success of the class: